2017 Review

Home floor advantage was prevalent when Coquitlam teams captured the most medals at the 2017 Trevor Wingrove Memorial Lacrosse Tournament. The locals won gold in the Midget Division and silver in both the Bantam and Peewee Divisions.

In the gold winning Midget (ages 15 and 16) Coquitlam downed the Saanich Tigers 12 - 7. Luca Antonglovanni led the way for the Adanacs with a four goal performance while Adam Noaakes, Tyler Kralj and Nick Musso each added a pair. Singles went to Maxwell Semple and Dylan Robinson. Saanich’s top scorer was Ryan Sheridan with a hat trick. The locals were coached by Jason Carver, James Abbott and Tyson Abbott. In the bronze medal game Delta Islanders outlasted U.S. Boxla 7- 6 in an exciting double overtime thriller. It was the first time U.S. Boxla had reached the medal round of the tournament as their club showed great improvement in all divisions. The three American teams come from 22 States in the United States.

Coquitlam Adanacs

In the Bantam Division (ages 13 and 14), Ridge Meadows Burrards defeated the locals 7 - 2 behind Calum Munro’s four goal scoring spree with a pair going to Joel McCormick and a solo goal by Jack Foster. The Burrards were coached by Daren Fridge and Curt Malawsky. Coquitlam scorers were Josh Iacino and David Charney. Juan de Fuca Whalers (Vancouver Island) downed the Sherwood Park Titans (Alberta) 9- 3 in the bronze medal game.

Ridge Meadows Burrards

Juan de Fuca also prevailed in the youngest Peewee Division besting the hometown Coquitlam Adanacs 8 -2 to claim gold. A well balanced attack was led by Kurtis Gullbault and Jett Klassen who had two goals apiece. The Whalers were coached by Doug Quested, Grant Hamilton, and Tace Gail. Coquitlam's lone scorers were Carter Ashworth and Lucas Baxter. Ridge Meadows was the winner of the bronze tilt prevailing 8-3 over the Nanaimo Timbermen with Aidan McDonald firing in five markers.

Juan de Fuca Whalers

Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awards were presented in each of the three divisions. The awards were given for quality of play, sportsmanship and inspirational play to his or her team mates.

Division 2017 Winner
PeeWee Carter Quested (Juan de Fuca)
Bantam Brayden Laity (Ridge Meadows)
Midget Adam Noakes (Coquitlam Adanacs)


The very successful tournament was held in all three rinks at the Poirier Sports and Leisure Centre over a four day period. The Tournament Director was Heather Wilson who was assisted by many volunteers from the Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse Association. Medals were presented by NLL lacrosse stars Christian Del Bianco (Calgary Roughnecks) and Travis Cornwall (Vancouver Stealth).

Division Gold Silver Bronze
PeeWee Ridge Meadows Burrards Juan de Fuca Whalers Nanaimo Timberman
Bantam Coquitlam Adanacs Juan de Fuca Whalers Burnaby Lakers
Midget Delta Islanders Coquitlam Adanacs Ridge Meadows Burrards


Vancouver Stealth
M.V.P. Awards are sponsored by the Vancouver Stealth. Each winner will receive 2 tickets to a future Stealth game at the Langley Events Centre.
Mogul Mesh
Sponsors of M.V.P. gifts - winners receive a premium mesh kit.
Powell Lacrosse
The Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awards are sponsored by Powell Lacrosse. A player in each division will receive one of Powell's amazing lacrosse sticks.
Tourney Machine
Our new interactive page with schedules, scores, and updates is sponsored by Tourney Machine and Sports Illustrated Play.
Beyond the Grape
All managers gifts were generously donated by Beyond the Grape.
Action Pro Photo
Photographs supplied by Action Pro Photo
Signarama Tri Cities Branded Athletics
The new signage at Poirier Sport & Leisure Complex made possible by Signarama Tri-Cities and Branded Athletics
The tournament Web site is hosted by Fern Web Design Services
The tournament is hosted by Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse. An amazing group of volunteers makes this amazing tournament possible.


Click here for the 2017 schedule and game results

Press Coverage:

US teams set to face off at Wingrove tourney in Coquitlam - Tri-City News June 2, 2017

Team USBoxLA Trevor Wingrove Memorial Coaching Staff Confirmed - US Box Lacrosse Association May 25, 2017

Wingrove Schedule Released: Who is Team USBoxLA Playing in Coquitlam? - US Box Lacrosse Association May 16, 2017