2016 Review

Twenty-eight teams participated in the Trevor Wingrove Memorial Tournament hosted by the Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse Association. They came from Alberta, Vancouver Island, the Interior, Okanagan and the United States but in the end it was the local teams from the Lower Mainland that prevailed in the gold medal games.

In the Peewee Division (ages 11 and 12) Gold medal game, the Ridge Meadows Burrards bested the Juan de Fuca Whalers from Victoria 8-2. Setting the tone for the Burrards was Jaxon Smart with two goals. The Maple Ridge squad was coached by former Coquitlam Adanacs player Curt Malawsky who is the Head Coach of the Calgary Roughnecks. In the Bronze medal game, it was the Nanaimo T-Men with a upset win of the host Coquitlam Adanacs in a 7-6 squeaker where the late charging Adanacs fell one goal short. Mathew Boas led a well balanced attack for the T-Men with a goal and an assist while Carter Clark scored two for the Adanacs. Medals were presented by Travis Cornwall from the pro Vancouver Stealth.


2016 PeeWee Champions - Ridge Meadows Burrards

In the Bantam Division (ages 13 and 14) it was the host team Coquitlam Adanacs with a hat trick from Luca Antongiovanni downing their arch rival Juan de Fuca Whalers 8-3. The Adanacs were coached by Tyler Radonich, Ian Radonich, and Brad Haddon while Brian Spaven coached the Whalers. The Adanacs got a standout game from goaltender Thomas Ungaro. The Bronze was won by the surprising Burnaby Lakers on a buzzer beater goal by Ian Marin to edge the Ridge Meadows Burrards 7-6. Burrards got a hat trick from Camaron Ickert. Bantam medals were presented by Curtis Hodgson the captain from the Vancouver Stealth.


2016 Bantam Champions - Coquitlam Adanacs

The Midget Division (ages 15 and 16) featured a standout performance by the Delta Islanders who beat the host Coquitlam Adanacs by a score of 10-6. Haiden Dickson was Detla's top scorer notching a hat trick. Diego Pasula matched that for the Adanacs. Stephen Alexander was the winning coach while Travis Cornwall skippered the Adanacs. Ridge Meadows Burrards behind the coaching of Lance Andre took the bronze medal with a narrow 6-5 victory over the Calgary Hornets who went undefeated in the round robin. Dylan McCormack was a difference maker with his three goal effort. Medals for the Midget Division were presented by the high scoring Logan Schuss from the Vancouver Stealth.


2016 Midget Champions - Delta Islanders

Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awards were presented in each of the three divisions. The awards were given for quality of play, sportsmanship and inspirational play to his or her team mates.

Division 2016 Winner
PeeWee Shayne McKay (Maple Ridge Burrards)
Bantam Marcello Mannarino (Coquitlam Adanacs)
Midget Jarvis Dashkewytch (Delta Islanders)


This year's tournament featured three teams from US Boxla who drew players from all over the United States to make their first appearance in a tournament in B.C. While their teams were blanked from the medals, the converted field players performed well, proved to be competitive, and competed with class. Program Head Shaydon Santos promised a return visit from the Americans next year. The Canadian teams enjoyed their international experience and welcome their return.

During the tournament, a Vancouver Stealth jersey autographed by the entire Stealth team and a lacrosse shaft donated by Cyclone Sports was raffled off with proceeds going to the Trevor Wingrove Bursary which aids male or female lacrosse players in their pursuit of post-secondary education. Wingrove played all his minor lacrosse in Coquitlam and went on to star with the Coquitlam Junior Adanacs in the BC Junior Lacrosse League and finally with the Coquitlam Adanacs in the Western Lacrosse Association. He won numerous awards along the way. He was also a high ranking city manager with the City of Coquitlam. Wingrove passed away after a courageous fight with cancer almost four years ago. This year's winner of the bursary is Liam MacDonald. The bursary was presented Thursday June 9th at the Coquitlam Foundation Awards Ceremony

The very successful tournament was held in all three rinks at the Poirier Sports and Leisure Centre. It ran four days from Thursday to Sunday. The Tournament Director was Heather Wilson who was assisted by many volunteers from the Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse Association.

Division Gold Silver Bronze
PeeWee Ridge Meadows Burrards Juan de Fuca Whalers Nanaimo Timberman
Bantam Coquitlam Adanacs Juan de Fuca Whalers Burnaby Lakers
Midget Delta Islanders Coquitlam Adanacs Ridge Meadows Burrards


Vancouver Stealth
All game M.V.P. Awards are sponsored by the Vancouver Stealth. Each winner will received 2 tickets to a future Stealth game at the Langley Events Centre.
Powell Lacrosse
The Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awards are sponsored by Powell Lacrosse. A player in each division received one of Powell's amazing lacrosse sticks.
Tourney Machine
Our new interactive page with schedules, scores, and updates is sponsored by Tourney Machine and Sports Illustrated Play.
Branded Athletics
Check out the limited edition TW23 Socks by Branded Athletics. All proceeds support the Trevor Wingrove Bursary Fund.
Beyond the Grape
All managers gifts were generously donated by Beyond the Grape.
StefaneyBee The official photographer of the tournament is StefaneyBee Photography.
The tournament Web site is hosted by Fern Web Design Services
The tournament is hosted by Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse. An amazing group of volunteers makes this amazing tournament possible.


Click here for the 2016 schedule and game results

Press Coverage:

Burrards rumble to gold - Maple Ridge & Pitt Meadows Times June 15, 2016

Adanacs grab gold in bantam division - Tri-City News June 10, 2016

Midget Isles provincial contenders - Delta Optimist June 10, 2016

The Americans are coming: Post-Trevor Wingrove analysis - US Box Lacrosse Association June 6, 2016

Stars, stripes, scores and stats from the 2016 Trevor Wingrove Memorial - US Box Lacrosse Association June 6, 2016

Trevor Wingrove Memorial Lacrosse Tournament Photos - snapd Tri-Cities June 2016

#BCTour: How to Follow Team USBOXLA at the 2016 Trevor Wingrove Memorial - US Box Lacrosse Association June 3, 2016

Top talent at Wingrove tourney - Tri City News May 31, 2016

Team USBoxla: Trevor Wingrove Memorial Schedules Released - US Box Lacrosse Association May 16, 2016

Team USBoxla Pee Wee, Bantam & Midget Rosters Set for #BCTour - US Box Lacrosse Association April 11, 2016

Team USBoxla Attending Presigious Trevor Wingrove Memorial Tournament - US Box Lacrosse Association January 7, 2016

Trevor Wingrove Lacrosse Tournament Goes International - Press Release June 2016