2015 Review

There were two minor lacrosse associations that took home the most hardware at the conclusion of 56 lacrosse games held in the Trevor Wingrove Memorial Tournament The host Coquitlam Adanacs and the Juan de Fuca Whalers from southern Vancouver Island each won gold, silver and bronze medals from the four day event held at the Poirier Sport and Leisure Centre.

In the Peewee Division (ages 11 and 12) gold medal game, the Maple Ridge Burrards downed the Whalers 9 -3 behind the excellent goaltending of Brayden Wandler and a pair of goals each from Andrew Thompson, Joel McCormick and Brayden Laity. Juan de Fuca's top scorer was Nathan King with a goal and an assist. Maple Ridge was coached by former Maple Ridge Burrards coach and current General Manager Darrent Fridge and Calgary Roughnecks coach Curt Malawski. In the bronze final, it was the host Coquitlam Adanacs with a decisive 13 - 4 victory over the Langley Thunder. Leading the way for Coquitlam were Remo Schenato and Joshua Iacino who each registered hat tricks. The Adanacs were coached by Evan Lovestead and the Thunder by former Coquitlam Senior Adanac goaltender Chris Levis.

In the Bantam Division (ages 13 and 14) featured the lowest scoring game of the tournament with the Juan de Fuca Whalers coached by Brian Spaven squeaking out a narrow 2 - 1 win over over the host Adanacs coached by Jason Carver and Junior Adanacs president James Abbot. Despite the low score it was an exciting game going right to the wire with outstanding goaltending from Ryan Armstrong and Adam Bland. In the bronze medal game it was another Island team coming out on top. The Sannich Tigers beat the Semiahmoo Rock who hail from White Rock by a score of 9 - 4. Patrick Dodds led the scoring with three goals. Saanich is coached by former Victoria Shamrocks Ken Passfield, Alton Davis and Grant Pepper.

The Midget Division (ages 15 and 16) was where the hosts excelled. The Adanacs downed the Maple Ridge Burrards 9- 3 behind the top goaltending of Mathew Chapman and a pair of goals each from Thomas Semple and Jalan Chaster. For the Burrards, Dylan McIntosh had a pair as well. The Adanacs were coached by former WLA player Kory Nelson. The Burrards were coached by former Poco Saint Junior A coaches Danny Harada and Ray Richards. The bronze medals went to the Juan de Fuca Whalers when they squeaked out a 6 - 5 win over the only out of province team to reach the medal games, the Calgary Hornets.

Handing out medals in closing ceremonies were Vancouver Stealth pro players Tyler Digby and Brandon Clelland along with Stealth President and General Manager Doug Locker and Assistant General Manager Brad Hock. Lock was Trevor Wingrove's coach at Whittier College in California. The Stealth generously donated four game tickets to the Most Valuable Players from each team in all 56 of the games.

Division Gold Silver Bronze
PeeWee Ridge Meadows Burrards Juan de Fuca Whalers Coquitlam Adanacs
Bantam Juan de Fuca Whalers Coquitlam Adanacs Saanich Tigers
Midget Coquitlam Adanacs Maple Ridge Burrards Juan de Fuca Whalers


Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awards were presented in each of the three divisions.  The awards were given for quality of play, sportsmanship and inspirational play to his or her team mates.

Division 2015 Winner
PeeWee Andrew Thompson (Maple Ridge Burrards)
Bantam Issac Swan (Juan De Fuca Whalers)
Midget Robert Hofseth (Coquitlam Adanacs)

During the tournament, a "loonie stick" was raffled off with proceeds going to the Coquitlam Foundation for the Trevor Wingrove Bursary which aids male or female lacrosse players in their pursuit of post secondary education.  Wingrove played all his minor lacrosse in Coquitlam and went on to star with the Coquitlam Junior Adanacs in the BC Junior Lacrosse League and finally with the Coquitlam Adanacs in the Western Lacrosse Association.  He won numerous awards along the way.  He was also a high ranking city manager with the City of Coquitlam.  Wingrove passed away after a courageous fight with cancer almost five years ago. This year's winner of the bursary is  Harlowe Steele who is the first female recipient. The bursary will be presented on June 17th at the Coquitlam Foundation Awards Ceremony.


Vancouver Stealth
All game M.V.P. Awards are sponsored by the Vancouver Stealth. Each winner will receive 4 tickets to a future Stealth game at the Langley Events Centre.
Harrow Sports
The Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awards are sponsored by Harrow Sports. A player in each division will receive one of Harrow's amazing lacrosse shafts.
StefaneyBee The official photographer of the tournament is StefaneyBee Photography.


The very successful tournament was held in both rinks at the Poirier Sports and Leisure Centre.  It ran four days from Thursday to Sunday. The Tournament Director is Deanna Procyk who was assisted by approximately one hundred volunteers from the Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse Association.  The tournament gets more applications than it can accommodate.  It featured teams from all over BC and Alberta


Game Results:

Click here for the 2015 schedule and game results

Press Coverage:

Wingrove tourney kicks off in Coquitlam this week - The Tri-Cities Now June 4, 2015

Bantam A Whalers grab lacrosse gold in Coquitlam - Goldstream News Gazette June 11, 2015