2014 Review

Twenty-four teams participated in the Trevor Wingrove Memorial Tournament hosted by the Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse Association.  They came from Alberta, Vancouver Island, the Interior, and the Okanagan but in the end it was the local teams that came away the big winners.

In the Peewee Division (ages 11 and 12) championship, the home team Coquitlam Adanacs prevailed with an exciting 4 - 3 nail-biter over the Juan de Fuca Whalers.  The Adanacs Christian Fitzgerald led the way with three goals while Connor Dauncey banged in what proved to be the winning goal.  Max Sempie had a pair of assists.  Whalers had goals from Riley Haws, Logan Wright and Owen Evers.  Both goaltenders, Whalers Adam Bland and Adanacs Thomas Ungaro had standout games.  Coquitlam was coached by Mike Kemp and Steve Goodwin while Juan de Fuca was coached by former Victoria Shamrock Ted Jenner.  In the Bronze final, it was Beau Bradley's Maple Ridge Burrards 1 over former Burrard Darren Fridge's Maple Ridge Burrards 2 squad by a score of 10 - 3.  Medals were presented by professional NLL players Marty Dinsdale and Darryl Veltman of the Calgary Roughnecks.

In the Bantam Division (ages 13 and 14) another Tri-City team, the Poco Saints prevailed 8 - 6 over a late charging Ridge Meadows Burrards to claim the gold medals. The  Saints got a four goal effort from Nico Pace, a pair from Mitch Bye, and singles from Austin Wahl and Evan Wray.  They were coached by Josh Wahl.  The Burrards, coached by Danny Harada, had a two goal effort from Dylan McCormick.  The Bronze was won by Juan de Fuca Whalers who were coached by former Victoria Shamrock Tory Thompson with a 9 -5 win over Steven Alexander's Delta Islanders.  Bantam medals were presented by Tyler Garrision from the Vancouver Stealth and Athan Iannucci of the Colorado Mammoth.

The Midget Division (ages 15 and 16) featured a close game with the Maple Ridge Burrards breaking a tie late in the game.  The Burrards scored  three goals in the final four minutes to take down the home team Coquitlam Adanacs by a score of 8 - 5 .  Goaltender Nate Faccin had a standout performance.  Dylan McIntosh had two goals including the winner while Ross Radomski and Trevor Gobillot also had a pair each.  Singles went to Mackenzie Rope and William Clayton.  Burrards were coached by former WLA goaltender Lance Andre.  The Adanacs had two goals from Mateo LeVan and singles from Andrew Miller, Jalen Chaster, and Ty Yanko.  They are coached by former Sr Adanac and Colorado Mammoth coach Pat Coyle.  The Bronze final featured the Calgary Axemen defeating the Delta Islanders 6 - 4 allowing one of the four Alberta teams in attendance to go home with medals.  Medals were presented by Jeff Cornwall of the Edmonton Rush and his brother Travis Cornwall of the Calgary Roughnecks.

Division Gold Silver Bronze
PeeWee Coquitlam Adanacs Juan de Fuca Whalers Ridge Meadows Burrards
Bantam Port Coquitlam Saints Ridge Meadows Burrards Juan de Fuca Whalers
Midget Ridge Meadows Burrards Coquitlam Adanacs Calgary Axemen


Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awards were presented in each of the three divisions.  The awards were given for quality of play, sportsmanship and inspirational play to his or her team mates.

Division 2014 Winner
PeeWee Christian Fitzgerald (Coquitlam Adanacs)
Bantam Brett Ginac (Port Coquitlam Saints)
Midget Daylon Kellough (Maple Ridge Burrards)

During the tournament, a Vancouver Stealth jersey autographed by goaltender Tyler Richards was raffled off with proceeds going to the Coquitlam Foundation for the Trevor Wingrove Bursary which aids male or female lacrosse players in their pursuit of post secondary education.  Wingrove played all his minor lacrosse in Coquitlam and went on to star with the Coquitlam Junior Adanacs in the BC Junior Lacrosse League and finally with the Coquitlam Adanacs in the Western Lacrosse Association.  He won numerous awards along the way.  He was also a high ranking city manager with the City of Coquitlam.  Wingrove passed away after a courageous fight with cancer almost four years ago. This year's winner of the bursary was  Alex Bodin. The bursary was presented on June 4 at the Coquitlam Foundation Awards Ceremony.


The Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awards are sponsored by X-Treme Threads.
StefaneyBee The official photographer of the tournament is StefaneyBee Photography.


The very successful tournament was held in both rinks at the Poirier Sports and Leisure Centre.  It ran four days from Thursday to Sunday. The Tournament Director is Deanna Procyk who was assisted by many volunteers from the Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse Association.  The tournament gets more applications than it can accommodate.  It featured teams from all over BC and Alberta and has already had inquiries for next year from Ontario and the United States.


Press Coverage:

Adanacs snare peewee title - The Tri-Cities Now June 10, 2014

Strong showing for Tri-City clubs at Wingrove tourney - The Tri-City News June 11, 2014

TW23 Logo