2013 Review

This year's Trevor Wingrove Memorial saw twenty teams competing in three divisions.  In addition to the best teams in Greater Vancouver, three teams traveled from Calgary, Alberta and there were a total of six teams from Vancouver Island.

In the Peewee Division (ages 11 and 12) Coquitlam Adanacs A1 -1 dominated the Ridge Meadows Burrards who had beat them earlier in the round robin portion of the tournament. The final score was 8 - 2.  Coquitlam was led by Drew Kask with a hat-trick and Adam Nookes with a pair while singles went to Miguel Cullum, Tyler Kraig, and Luca Antongiovanni.  Connor Nichols was outstanding in the Adanacs' net.  The Adanacs were coached by Todd Cullum.  The Burnaby Lakers won bronze medals in a tight win over Westshore from Vancouver Island 6 - 5.

The Bantam Division (ages 13 and 14) were also won by the Coquitlam Adanacs who downed the Westshore Whalers in the final by a score of 10 - 5.  The Coquitlam squad showed a well-balanced attack.  They were led by Thomas Semple with two goals while Kyle Nichols, Mackenzie Geldart, Jalen Chaster, Josh Milligan, Jordan Taylor, Lucas Infani, Robert Hofseth and Mark Sund each chipped in a goal.  The Bantam Adanacs were coached by Lance Hofseth.  In the bronze medal game it was Ridge Meadows blanking the Calgary Axemen 5 - 0.

In the highly contested Midget Division (ages 15 and 16) the Cowichan Thunder prevented the Coquitlam sweep by narrowly upsetting the Adanacs by a score of 4 - 3 in the final game of the tournament as both goaltenders excelled.  Cowichan was led by Braylon Lumb's pair of goals while singles went to Tyson Black and Colin Winship.  Coquitlam scorers were Dennon Armstrong, Dakota Coyle and Mathew Stancato.  The Midget Adanacs are coached by former Senior Adanac Pat Coyle.  In the bronze final Calgary Hornets downed the Westshore Whalers by a score of 9 -5.

Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awad was presented in each of the three divisions.  The awards were given for quality of play, sportsmanship and inspirational play to his or her team mates. 

Division 2013 Winner
PeeWee Luca Atongiovanni (Coquitlam Adanacs)
Bantam Mackenzie Geldart (Coquitlam Adanacs)
Midget Pollo Claxton (Cowichan Thunder)

Awards were handed out by pro players Dane Dobbie, Jon Harnett, and Travis Cornwall from the Calgary Roughnecks, Nick Rose from the Toronto Rock and Jeff Cornwall from the Edmonton Rush as well as former pro player and current coach of the Coquitlam Jr Adanacs Neil Doddridge.  The family was represented by the late Trevor Wingrove's father Les Wingrove, a member of the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame and the Coquitlam Sports Hall of Fame, as well as his brother Craig and nephew Will who travelled from Greenwich, Connecticut.

Division Gold Silver Bronze
PeeWee Coquitlam Adanacs Ridge Meadows Burrards Burnaby Lakers
Bantam Coquitlam Adanacs Westshore Whalers Ridge Meadows Burrards
Midget Cowichan Thunder Coquitlam Adanacs Calgary Hornets


Every player received a hair care and styling kit courtesy of Rusk.
Beyond The Grape Coaches and managers gifts are sponsored by Beyond the Grape.
Lax.com Most Valuable Player Awards in the medal rounds are sponsored by Lax.com.
The Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awards are sponsored by Harrow Sports.


The very successful tournament was once again headed up by Tournament Director Deanna Procyk. We are grateful for our sponsors and all of the volunteers - this tournament is considered by many to be the most prestigious invitational minor lacrosse tournament attracting the top teams in Western Canada.


Press Coverage:

Friends, family join Jr. A's in Celebrating No. 23 - The Tri-Cities Now June 7, 2013

Junior Adanacs to honor legacy of the late Trevor Wingrove tonight - IL Indoor June 5, 2013

Wingrove's jersey to be retired Wednesday at Adanacs' home game - The Tri-City News May 30, 2013

TW23 Logo