2012 Review

Twenty-four teams with 500 participants came as far as Calgary and Vancouver Island to compete in three divisions in the Trevor Wingrove Memorial Invitational Tournament.  When the hardware was handed out three local Tri Cities teams came out as champions.

In the Peewee division (ages 11 and 12) the Coquitlam Adanacs were awarded gold medals after they defeated the Westshore Whalers from Victoria.  The Adanacs are coached by Sr Adanac Tim Campeau and assisted by Roy Miller and Doug Avigdor.  Former Vancouver Ravens coach Paul Delmonte led his Burnaby Lakers team to the bronze medals.


2012 PeeWee Champions - Coquitlam Adanacs

In the Bantam division final (ages 13 and 14) the Coquitlam Adanacs also defeated the Westshore Whalers.  The Adanacs who are so far undefeated this season narrowly defeated the Whalers in the round robin play which set up an exciting final.  They are coached by former Jr Adanac Lance Hofseth and assisted by Ian Radonich.  The Whalers are coached by former Victoria Shamrock Grant Hamilton.  In the bronze medal final it was the Saanich Tigers also from Vancouver Island coming out on top.

Bantam Champs

2012 Bantam Champions - Coquitlam Adanacs

The highly contested twelve team Midget division saw the Poco Saints edging out the Ridge-Meadows Burrards in the final.  The Saints were coached by former Burnaby Laker Junior A coach Mike Kuppan and assisted by Team BC Midget coach Derek Milani along with Mac Davis and Tim Gillespie. The Burrards were handled by former Jr Adanacs brothers Garrett and Darryl Stickler. In the bronze medal game, former New Westminster Salmonbellie Jamie Floris steered his Salmonbellie team to a win over the Coquitlam Adanacs coached by Jayson Carver and assisted by Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse president James Abbott.


2012 Midget Champions - Port Coquitlam Saints


Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Award was presented in each of the three divisions.  The awards were given for quality of play, sportsmanship and inspirational play to his or her team mates. 

Division 2012 Winner
PeeWee Peyton Avigdor (Coquitlam Adanacs)
Bantam Reid Bowering (Coquitlam Adanacs)
Midget Sam Degroot (Port Coquitlam Saints)

Professional lacrosse players with ties to Coquitlam were on hand to present medals to the teams: Jeff Cornwall (Edmonton Rush), Nick Rose (Toronto Rock), Corbin Tao (Minnesota Swarm) and Darryl Veltman (Calgary Roughnecks).  Wingrove's former teammates, Ken Thomas, Jeff Gombar and Curt Malawsky presented the Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player awards.  The family was represented by Wingrove's father Les who is well known in lacrosse circles, particularly for his leadership over all levels of Coquitlam lacrosse. Trevor's brother Craig and nephew William travelled from Greenwich, CT to be part of the tournament.  The family presented the trophies and banners to the three winning teams.

Division Gold Silver Bronze
PeeWee Coquitlam Adanacs Westshore Bears Burnaby Lakers
Bantam Coquitlam Adanacs Westshore Bears Saanich Tigers
Midget Port Coquitlam Saints Ridge Meadows Burrards New Westminster Salmonbellies


Most Valuable Player Awards in the medal rounds are sponsored by Maverik Lacrosse.
BiteTech Most Valuable Player Awards in the round robin are sponsored by Bite Tech.
The Trevor Wingrove Inspirational Player Awards are sponsored by Harrow Sports.


Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse and the tournament organizers would like to thank everyone for another terrific tournament. We could not do this without our volunteers and sponsors.  The calibre of play was once again outstanding. Thank you all and see you in 2013!


Sports Action Pictures was on hand at the tournament. Please visit the link below to view photographs. All photos are availalble through the Sports Action Pictures Web site.

2012 Trevor Wingrove Photographs

Press Coverage:

Tri-City Teams Dominate Trevor Wingrove Memorial Tournament - Tri-City News June 12, 2012

Tourney Honours Boxla Star - Coquitlam Now June 6, 2012

Trevor Wingrove Memorial Tournament Draws Top Minor Boxla Teams - Tri-City News June 7, 2012

TW23 Logo